Home » Peri-Trip » Contenta En Casa

Contenta En Casa

Hola todos! It’s been a while since I’ve written. I’ve been busy settling back in, unpacking my suitcase and my brain and readjusting to life in gringolandia. My Chilean fiesta with my family was a great hit, they really liked my sopaipillas and empanadas.

For the most part my reentry has gone smoothly. My bank account looking pretty sad, and I do miss my Chilean friends and host family. I also miss being surrounded by Spanish, but I hope to find an outlet for this by volunteering as a translator and by staying in contact with my Chilean friends.

I think I’m still working on understanding my experience. I want to somehow quantify it, put it into context, as if by understanding it I can keep from losing it. I learned a great deal, and I feel different, but I can’t exactly explain in what way. I also want to make sense of my semester abroad by using it to help others, I hope that this blog can be my first step towards that goal. But for now, it’s good to be home!

Leave a Reply

